Liverpool Captain Jordan Henderson crowned FWA Footballer of the Year

Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson has been crowned the Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers’ Association for the 2019/2020 Premier League season.

It’s been an eventful year for Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson.

He led the Liverpool side that won the UEFA Champions League and Club World Cup in 2019.

In January 2020, Henderson was named the England national team’s Player of the Year.

Liverpool midfielder Jordan Henderson has claimed the 2019 England Men’s Player of the Year award ahead of Manchester City forward Raheem Sterling. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED BY GOAL/GETTY IMAGES.

The former Sunderland man became the first Liverpool captain to lift the Premier League trophy in 30 years after their 5-3 victory over Chelsea at Anfield on Wednesday.

The 30-year-old has been rewarded with the FWA Footballer of the Year award after playing a key role in the centre of the park as the Reds blitz their way to the title.

The Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year is given to the player considered both to have had an outstanding impact on their club’s performance in the season, and having performed well individually throughout the campaign.

It’s the oldest individual award in English football and has been given out every year since 1948.

Mohamed Salah is targeting silverware beyond the Champions League final after collecting his Football Writers’ Association footballer of the year award. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED BY STEVEN PASTON/PA WIRE.

Henderson can now add this prestigious award to his growing list of individual accolades.

The Liverpool skipper beat Manchester City’s star midfielder Kevin De Bruyne who came second and Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford in third, to claim the award.

Speaking on his award, Henderson saidI’d like to say how appreciative I am of the support of those who voted for me and the Football Writers’ Association in general.

“You only have to look at the past winners of it, a number of whom I’ve been blessed to play with here at Liverpool, like Stevie (Gerrard), Luis (Suarez) and Mo (Salah) to know how prestigious it is.

“But as grateful as I am I don’t feel like I can accept this on my own.

Jordan Henderson is now a Liverpool legend and is absolutely crucial to the Reds’ style of play. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED BY RUSH THE KOP.

“I don’t feel like anything I’ve achieved this season or in fact during my whole career has been done on my own.

“I owe a lot to so many different people – but none more so than my current team-mates – who have just been incredible and deserve this every bit as much as I do.

“We’ve only achieved what we’ve achieved because every single member of our squad has been brilliant. And not just in matches. Not just in producing the moments that make the headlines and the back pages but every day in training.”

Premier League
Liverpool were crowned Premier League champions at Anfield on Wednesday evening. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED BY AP.

Liverpool’s superiority in the Premier League was attested for in the voting as four other Liverpool players were included by the journalists.

Ten others around the league received votes from the FWA members, including last year’s winner Raheem Sterling, Adama Traore, Danny Ings, Jack Grealish, among others.

Ojele Joshua
Bona Fide football fan with a passion for writing.
- Advertisment -


Leicester City: Season Review So Far

Leicester City are a Premier League team that certainly possess loads of proven potential. Having completed the 2020/21 season in 5th position and narrowly missing...

Liverpool vs Inter Milan: 3 Main Talking Points

The Reds were in action once again this week as the team’s immensely busy fixture list continued. It was the Italian underdogs, Inter Milan, who...

Cristiano Ronaldo’s return is amazing news for the Premier League

Having Cristiano Ronaldo back in the Premier League has increased the excitement factor and should make this one of the most thrilling title races...